What the future of Call of Duty might look like

With the recent change to a three-year Call of Duty development cycle, announced by Activision today, we can extrapolate what the next few years will look like for the franchise.

This year, Sledgehammer Games will head development on the Call of Duty game. According to Game Informer, Activision said Call of Duty had three branches: the Modern Warfare series, the Black Ops series, and the Ghosts series. With Treyarch on Black Ops and Infinity Ward introducing Ghosts, it’s possible Sledgehammer will pick up the Modern Warfare series.

Based on that knowledge, and the assumption that Call of Duty games will always release in November, the next three years will likely look like this:

November 2014 (this year): Sledgehammer Games – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

November 2015: Treyarch – Call of Duty: Black Ops

November  2016: Infinity Ward – Call of Duty: Ghosts

November 2017: Sledgehammer Games – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

Despite the wait between the next entry in each series being a year longer now, the extra development time might help Activision better differentiate them. And maybe the extra time would result in more DLC for each game.

Source: Game Informer

Amazon bought Killer Instinct developer Double Helix. Here’s why it makes sense.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s